BUILDING COMMUNITY

for people with special needs

 
 
 
 
1
1

WELCOME TO MAISON EMMANUEL

HISTORY

Maison Emmanuel is a community of people living together, some of whom have special needs, living together in the Laurentian hills. Located an hour north of Montreal, our community of 45 people is nestled in a valley on old farmland, in the midst of the forest.

Maison Emmanuel, member of the North American Council for Anthroposophic Curative Education and Social Therapy, is inspired by the philosophy of Rudolf Steiner and modeled on

Read more >

the worldwide Camphill movement. For us at Maison Emmanuel, building community means living and working side by side, regardless of our background or “ability”, in a healthy social environment. We are conscious of the uniqueness of each individual, and the fundamental importance of building supportive relationships that can allow each of us to fulfill our potential.

COMMUNITY LIVING

Those in need of special care live together with their co-workers in  extended family settings, sharing responsibility for the day to day running of the homes.  The day is structured around communal mealtimes, domestic chores, work in our craft workshops and caring for our land and gardens. All are involved in building a supportive community environment where everyone learns to care and provide for the needs of others. Festivals, plays, concerts and a weekly ecumenical Sunday gathering, celebrations and outings of all

Read more >

kinds are part of a rich social life, in which meaningful and supportive relationships can develop. Maison Emmanuel aims not only to provide an alternative model of residential care for adults with developmental disabilities: it aims to provide an alternative way of living together in a society where people are often valued on their productivity and earning ability.

OUR PHILOSOPHY

Maison Emmanuel´s philosophy is fundamentally rooted in the idea that a healthy and strong social life can only be found when each person works for the welfare of the community, and that through a colleagueship the needs (financial, material, emotional) of one will be met by those around him or her, as one strives to meet their needs in return.

In such relationship, ability and productivity no longer become the basis for what I receive:

Read more >

each gives what he or she can for the good of the other, and the needs of each one are met by the community as a whole. Thus, we can break away from the pattern of carer/caregiver relationships, and meet each other as equals in our differences.

FOUNDATION

FINDING YOUR VOCATION

VOLUNTEERING

EVENTS

COMMUNITY IN THE HEART

OF THE LAURENTIAN MONTAINS

THERE ARE SEVERAL WAYS YOU CAN SUPPORT US:

  • Make a donation
  • Become a contributing member
  • Make a gift in kind or of services
  • Donate in honor or in memory of a friend or loved one
  • Participate in special events
  • Sponsor a volunteer coworker

You can contact Maison Emmanuel Foundation,  the administration or get more information on volunteering and general information.

Located in Val-Morin, in a setting of woods, lakes and rivers, an hour’s drive north of Montreal, Maison Emmanuel offers a therapeutic environment for adults of all ages and from all regions of Quebec.

Located in Val-Morin, in a setting of woods, lakes and rivers, an hour’s drive north of Montreal, Maison Emmanuel offers a therapeutic environment for adults of all ages and from all regions of Quebec province.

ONLINE DONATION

ONLINE

DONATION

VISIT
our CAFÉ BOUTIQUE

READ
OUR MAGAZINE

BÂTIR UNE COMMUNAUTÉ

pour les personnes ayant des besoins spéciaux

 
 

 
 
1
1

BIENVENUE À MAISON EMMANUEL

HISTOIRE

Maison Emmanuel est une communauté de personnes aux besoins divers ou particuliers, vivant et travaillant ensemble. À 1 heure au nord de Montréal, nichée dans une charmante vallée des Laurentides, entourée de montagnes et de forêts, notre communauté abritant 45 personnes s’est construite sur une des plus anciennes fermettes de la région.

Membre du North American Council for Curative Education and Social Therapy et s’inscrivant dans le sillon du mouvement international « Camphill », Maison Emmanuel s’inspire au quotidien de la

Lire Plus >

philosophie de Rudolph Steiner. Pour nous à Maison Emmanuel, «Communauté» signifie vivre et travailler ensemble dans un environnement sain et stimulant. Un environnement où les origines socioculturelles ainsi que les différentes compétences humaines ne représentent non pas un obstacle mais une richesse. Nous prenons en considération le caractère unique de chaque individu et nous portons une attention particulière à la construction d’une relation d’entraide, à travers laquelle chacun peut exprimer son plein potentiel

LE VIVRE ENSEMBLE

Celles et ceux qui présentent des besoins particuliers, vivent avec les aides-éducateurs, formant une grande famille et partageant les responsabilités quotidiennes de la vie des maisons. Ensemble, ils participent à la construction d’un cadre de vie où chacun apprend à être attentif et à supporter les besoins des autres. Les journées sont construites autour des repas en commun, des tâches domestiques, du travail dans les différents ateliers ou de l’entretien du domaine et des jardins. La vie sociale de la communauté est continuellement inspirée et enrichie par l’organisation de sorties

Lire Plus >

diverses, la célébration de festivals saisonniers, la présentation de spectacles, de concerts ou par le rassemblement œcuménique les dimanches matin.

La Maison Emmanuel ne propose pas seulement une alternative de vie pour adultes présentant des besoins particuliers, mais elle vise aussi à offrir une alternative au modèle social omniprésent qui tend à valoriser les individus en fonction de leur capacité de « production ».

NOTRE PHILOSOPHIE

La philosophie de Maison Emmanuel est profondément enracinée dans l’idée qu’un organisme social sain peut exister à la seule condition que chacun travaille pour le bien-être des autres. À travers cet échange fraternel et à travers ma volonté de rencontrer les attentes de mes collègues, mes propres attentes – qu´elles soient matérielles, émotionnelles ou financières – seront naturellement prises en charge par ces mêmes collègues, animés de cette même volonté.

Dans ce contexte social, les compétences et la productivité ne sont plus les seuls

Lire plus >

facteurs déterminants : chacun contribue à son niveau pour le bien-être de l’autre, et les besoins de tous sont pris en charge par la communauté dans son ensemble. Ainsi, il nous est permis de nous émanciper du schéma relationnel « éducateur-éduqué » afin de se rencontrer en tant qu’égal par delà nos différences.

FONDATION

TRAVAILLER
ET APPRENDRE
ENSEMBLE

BÉNÉVOLAT

ÉVÉNEMENTS

UN DOMAINE DE VIE

AU COEUR DES LAURENTIDES

IL EXISTE PLUSIEURS FAÇONS D’AIDER NOS RÉSIDENTS:

  • Faire un don
  • Devenir membre de soutien
  • Faire un don en espèce ou en service
  • Faire un don en l’honneur ou à la mémoire d’un être cher
  • Participation à un événement spécial
  • Parrainer un aide-éducateur bénévole

Vous pouvez contacter la Fondation Maison Emmanuel

ou l’administration pour plus d’informations.

Située à Val-Morin, dans un décor de forêts, de lacs et de rivières, à une heure de voiture au nord de Montréal, Maison Emmanuel offre un environnement thérapeutique à des adultes de tout âge en provenance des quatre coins du Québec.

Située à Val-Morin, dans un décor de forêts, de lacs et de rivières, à une heure de voiture au nord de Montréal, Maison Emmanuel offre un environnement thérapeutique à des adultes de tout âge en provenance des quatre coins du Québec.

DONNEZ EN LIGNE

DONNEZ

EN LIGNE

VISITEZ
NOTRE COIN BOUTIQUE

CONSULTEZ
NOTRE MAGAZINE